Viman Mek Mansion
The palace in the Clouds, a three-storey world’s largest golden teak building with 81 rooms, originally built in 1868 as a summer house on the Si Chang Island, it was moved to Dusit Hall in 1901 and, quite understandably, soon become King Rama V’s favorite place. The celebration for the completion of Viman Mek Mansion was held on March 27,1901. King Rama V then moved his residence from the Grand Palace to stay permanently at Viman Mek Mansion for five years, until the completion of Amporn Satarn Residence where he lived until his death in 1910. Viman Mek Mansion was closed down in 1935 and remained in this state until Queen Sirikit reopened in 1982 as a museum to mark Bangkok’s bicentennial celebration.
With its European Style, Viman Mek is built according to Thai tradition, using golden teakwood and without a single nail. Teakwood contains special oil which makes it resistant to heat and heavy rains, and which also acts as insect repellent. Among the procession of King Rama V one display is Thailand’s first indoor bathroom and the oldest typewriter with Thai characters, as well as Thai ceramics, European furniture, precious China and lovely portraits.
Viman Mek Mansion including the Aphisek Dusit Throne Hall (The Support Museum, a one storey teak building built in the reign of King Rama V, is situated on the east wing of Viman Mek Throne Hall) is located behind the National Assembly. Here, visitors can view such beautiful handicrafts, Thai silk with various unique designs and Liphao basketry like beautiful trays and handbags studded with jewels in different designs such as green beetles.